CSEC Management


Associate Director

Support Staff

Name Role/Research Interests
Dr Laura Charlton
Dr Steve Hankin CSEC Superintendent and Safety Officer
Dr CSEC Secretary Secretary

Academic Staff

Name School Role/Research Interests
Prof. Graeme Ackland Physics and Astronomy
Prof. J. Paul Attfield Chemistry High pressure materials synthesis
Prof. Euan Brechin Chemistry Inorganic Chemistry, Coordination Chemistry, Supramolecular Chemistry, Molecular Magnetism, High Pressure Science.
Dr Geoffrey Bromiley GeoSciences High pressure experimental mineralogy and petrology
Dr Ian Butler GeoSciences Experimental Geochemistry
Dr Christopher Clark Physics and Astronomy
Prof. Charles Cockell Physics and Astronomy Life in extreme environments, microbe-mineral interactions, habitability of extratererstrial environments
Dr James Cumby Chemistry Structure and Electronic Properties of Transition Metal Oxides
Dr Valentina Erastova Chemistry
Prof. Eugene Gregoryanz Physics and Astronomy
Dr Andreas Hermann Physics and Astronomy Computational Materials Physics
Dr Claire Hobday Chemistry
Dr Louise Horsfall BioSciences
Prof. Andrew Huxley Physics and Astronomy
Prof. Konstantin Kamenev Engineering
Dr Caroline Kirk Chemistry
Dr Adam Kirrander Chemistry Computational X-ray scattering/XFELs
Dr Tetsuya Komabayashi GeoSciences
Dr Emiko Komabayashi GeoSciences
Prof. Vasileios Koutsos Engineering Materials Design, Processing and Characterisation
Dr Dominique Laniel Physics and Astronomy
Dr Ingo Loa Physics and Astronomy
Dr John Loveday Physics and Astronomy
Dr Miguel Martinez-Canales Physics and Astronomy Computational study of materials at extreme pressure
Dr Christopher McDermott GeoSciences
Prof. Malcolm McMahon Physics and Astronomy
Dr Stewart McWilliams Physics and Astronomy High pressure, high temperature materials science; planetary science; shock physics.
Dr Naomi Nakayama BioSciences
Dr Fabio Nudelman Chemistry
Prof. Simon Parsons Chemistry
Prof. Colin Pulham Chemistry High-pressure studies of energetic materials, pharmaceuticals, fuels, and lubricants
Dr Santiago Romero-Vargas Castrillón Engineering
Dr John Royer Physics and Astronomy
Dr George Serghiou Engineering
Dr Mats Simmermacher Chemistry
Dr Christopher Stock Physics and Astronomy
Dr Filipe Teixeira-Dias Engineering Impact and structural dynamics, ballistics and blast waves, high strain rate material behaviour, computational mechanics, composite and cellular materials, applied and solid mechanics
Prof. Ying Zheng Engineering Chemical Engineering

Postdoctoral Research Fellows

Name School Role/Research Interests
Dr Tsanai Angelos Chemistry
Dr Michael Capeness BioSciences
Dr Matthew Duff Physics and Astronomy
Dr Virginia Echavarri-Bravo BioSciences Investigating the possible applications of metallic nanoparticles synthesised by microorganisms
Dr Matthew Edmundson BioSciences
Dr Hossein Ehteshami Physics and Astronomy
Dr Alvaro Etcheverry Berrios Chemistry
Dr Kunlang Ji Chemistry PDRA
Ms Guratinder Kaur Physics and Astronomy
Dr Sumit Konar Chemistry
Dr Mikhail Kuzovnikov Physics and Astronomy
Dr Xiaojiao Liu Chemistry
Dr Tomas Marqueno Villanueva Physics and Astronomy
Dr Andres Moreno Carrascosa Chemistry
Dr Oleg Nerushev Chemistry Lubricants Under Pressure
Dr Nikolaos Pantidos BioSciences
Dr Debi Prasad Pattnaik Chemistry
Dr Miriam Pena Alvarez Physics and Astronomy
Dr Ciprian Pruteanu Physics and Astronomy
Dr Jacob Shephard Chemistry
Dr Mukesh Singh Chemistry
Dr Manila Songvilay Physics and Astronomy
Dr Anna Toth Physics and Astronomy

Postgraduate Students

Name School Role/Research Interests
Mrs Mbayer Abunku Engineering
Mr Sergejs Afanasjevs Engineering
Ms Eleftheria Agapaki Chemistry
Mrs Aziza Almadhi Chemistry
Mr Matthew Aquilina Engineering
Mr James Aston Physics and Astronomy Lattice Synamics from Thermal Diffuse Scattering
Ms Orianna Ball Physics and Astronomy
Ms Ardith D. Bravenec GeoSciences
Mr Edward Broadhurst Chemistry
Mr Samuel Brown Physics and Astronomy
Mr Alex Campbell Chemistry
Mr Aaron Chan Chemistry
Ms Monica Chandwani Chandwani Chemistry
Mr Lewis Clough Chemistry
Mr Lewis Conway Physics and Astronomy
Mr Peter Cooke Physics and Astronomy
Mr Daniel Cutler Chemistry
Mr Ian Eggington BioSciences
Mr Oliver J E Entwisle Physics and Astronomy
Mr Calum Ferguson Physics and Astronomy
Mr Miguel Garcia Vazquez Engineering
Mr Stewart Gault Physics and Astronomy
Mr Nathan Giles-Donovan Physics and Astronomy
Ms Vili Grigorova Engineering
Ms Annabel Gunn Physics and Astronomy
Ms Jenny Harnett Physics and Astronomy
Ms Yasmin Hitchin Engineering
Ms Claire Hobday Chemistry High-pressure crystallography, solid-state DFT, grand canonical Monte Carlo simulations
Mr Jacky (Ka) Hong Chemistry Solid State Chemistry
Mr Jonathan Hunt Physics and Astronomy Anharmonic Lattice Dynamics
Ms Almudena Inchausti Valles Physics and Astronomy
Ms Hannah Jones Engineering
Mr Harry Keen Physics and Astronomy
Mr Jinze King Engineering
Mr Marcin Kirsz Physics and Astronomy
Mr Harry Lane Chemistry
Mr Hector Leong Physics and Astronomy
Ms Hannah Logan Chemistry
Ms Fiona MacIver-Jones Chemistry
Mr Dilraj Mankoo Chemistry
Mr Bernhard Massani Physics and Astronomy
Ms Simona Mazzone Engineering
Mr James McHardy Physics and Astronomy
Ms Sophie Millen Physics and Astronomy
Mr Michael Milton Chemistry
Mr Lukas Muhlbauer BioSciences
Ms Phillippa Partridge Chemistry
Ms Jana Pasztorova Physics and Astronomy
Ms Ellie Pauli Chemistry
Ms Emily Payne Chemistry
Ms Tereza Prokopová Physics and Astronomy UG Student
Ms Rebecca Rae Chemistry
Mr Matt Reeves Chemistry
Ms Matilda Rhodes Chemistry
Dr Daniel Roberts Chemistry
Mr Olin Robinson Physics and Astronomy
Mr Paul Sarte Chemistry Magnetism at Extreme Conditions, High Pressure-High Temperature Synthesis
Mr Callum Stevens Physics and Astronomy
Mr Christian Viktor Storm Physics and Astronomy
Mr Calum Strain Physics and Astronomy
Mr Weiguo Sun Physics and Astronomy
Mr Matthew Sutton Engineering
Mr Samuel Thompson GeoSciences
Mr Zak Towle BioSciences
Mr Ryan D Travers Chemistry
Mr Antonios Valavanis Engineering
Ms Annemiek Waajen Physics and Astronomy
Ms Annemiek Waajen Physics and Astronomy
Ms Mengnan Wang Physics and Astronomy
Mr Ke Wang Engineering
Mr Jacob Whittaker Chemistry
Ms Lucinda Wilson Chemistry
Mr Gavin Woolman Physics and Astronomy Primarily I use density functional theory (DFT) to investigate the thermoelectric properties of semiconductors. I also have an interest in high pressure physics, and material transport properties in general.

Visiting Scientists, Attached Scientists and Honorary Fellows

Name School Role/Research Interests
Dr Stephen Elphick GeoSciences
Dr Natalia Gomez-Perez Physics and Astronomy
Dr Malcolm Guthrie Physics and Astronomy High Pressure
Prof. Christopher Hall Engineering Engineering Materials
Prof. Andrew Harrison Chemistry Honorary Professor - School of Chemistry
Prof. Ben Harte GeoSciences Minerals and Melts in the Earth's Interior
Mr Takayuki Nagai Chemistry
Prof. Richard Nelmes Physics and Astronomy Professor of Crystallography & Senior Visiting Fellow at the ISIS Facility, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory
Prof. Chrystele Sanloup Physics and Astronomy Condensed Matter and Photonics/Hard Condensed Matter
Prof. Lindsay Sawyer BioSciences Protein biochemistry at high pressure
Mr Sean Stankovic Chemistry
Dr Yao Yuan Chemistry

CSEC Associate Members

Name Affiliation
Dr Scott Dalgarno School of Chemical Sciences, Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, UK
Prof. Stephen Hill Department of Physics, Florida State University, Tallahassee, US
Prof. Mark Murrie School of Chemistry, University of Glasgow, UK
Dr Mike Probert School of Natural and Environmental Sciences, Newcastle University, UK
Dr Rafael Valiente Department of Applied Physics, University of Cantabria, Santander, Spain